The wonders of coconut oil cleansing

Have you ever read that article ‘101 ways to use coconut oil’ well I did and it changed my life. Unless you didn’t know, coconut oil not only tastes great but also it has many antibacterial and anti-inflammatory properties that everyone’s skin can benefit from.
While at the start I was very skeptical about washing my already oily face with more oil, after a thorough research I finally decided to take the plunge and try the alleged ‘coconut cleansing method’ said to reduce redness, dry skin, acne and blackheads…yeah right I thought, still very skeptical about slathering my face in oil.

The process involves applying the coconut oil straight onto your face and massaging it in thoroughly. You must then leave it no more then 5 minutes to penetrate into your pores then using a very hot face towel, steam your face by placing the towel onto your face and leaving there until it goes cold. Then get the towel hot again and do the same again.

I was amazed after my first try, sure I probably got the proportion of oil wrong, but my face looked clean, was super soft and not even slightly oily. 

I’ve loved oil cleansing since I first tried it and do it at least once a week. I found it really helps with ingrown hairs and helps bring them to the surface much quicker then they usually would. It seems to calm my acne down but if I do it more then once a week and with more then a teaspoon of oil it makes it much worse. 

If your going to try oil cleansing the recommended amout of oil to use it a tablespoon. Some people like to mix the coconut oil with castor oil in a 2:3 ratio with coconut oil the larger factor. I personally don’t do this as I’ve never bothered to try, I tend to stick to pure coconut oil but sometimes add a few drops of essential oil such as peppermint, tea tree or lavender  if my acne is really bad or patchouli or ylang ylang if my skin feels it needs replenishing and in need of repair.
Let me know if you try or have tried coconut oil cleansing. What were your results?

Leave a Reply

